Ignition Interlock Device

(404) 816-4440

Ignition Interlock Devices in Henry County


An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) acts as a breathalyzer for a vehicle, requiring the driver to blow into a mouthpiece before starting or continuing to operate the vehicle. Directly linked to the engine's ignition system, the IID prevents engine startup if alcohol is detected. Recent modifications to IID devices include random testing after the engine has been started, aimed at preventing someone other than the driver from providing a breath sample to start the car.

Since July 1st, 2017, Georgia drivers facing DUI charges can opt for an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) hearing or install an IID on their vehicle. However, drivers arrested for a second DUI within 5 years must install the device for twelve months.

Costs associated with an IID installation include an installation fee typically ranging from $100 to $200 and monthly fees between $70 and $100. Additional expenses may include maintenance and calibration charges. Some shops may refuse to install IID devices on luxury cars or newer vehicles due to liability concerns.

In Georgia, tampering with an IID is outlined in O.C.G.A. §42-8-118, which includes soliciting another person to blow into the device, blowing into the IID for someone else, or circumventing its operation. Tampering with an IID can result in misdemeanor charges with penalties of up to $1,000 in fines, one year in jail, or both. Such actions may lead to probation revocation and an extension of IID installation.

If an IID registers alcohol, regardless of Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC), consequences are severe. Probation officers monitor IID activity, and any positive alcohol tests or failures to provide samples may lead to probation revocation. Certain products containing isopropyl alcohol, such as mouthwash or hand sanitizers, can trigger false positives. That is why we recommend you contact an experienced Henry County DUI Attorney if you find yourself in this position. 

Contact Us Today 

If you have any questions about ignition interlock devices and whether it is the best option for your case, wait and call our DUi Lawyers in Henry County immediately. Our experienced attorneys will provide you with a free case evaluation. With decades of experience, you can rest assured we know how to handle your case! 

DUI 30 Day Warning

To avoid suspension of your driver's license, a letter must be sent to the Department of Driver's Services within 30 days of your arrest. If you don't do it, you will lose your driving privilege. Call immediately to assure that your right to drive is protected.

CALL US 24/7

More Than 25 Years of Experience

Richard Lawson is a former DUI prosecutor who focuses exclusively DUI. Contact the legal team at The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson immediately after any DUI arrest. Experience is the difference.


Highest Rated DUI Lawyer

The State has lawyers whose job it is to prosecute those charged with DUI. Trying to defend yourself against lawyers trained to prosecute you can make your situation worse. Hire a top-rated DUI lawyer who will fight to protect your rights.

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.